NYOS Charter School School Board Minutes March 3, 2016

The NYOS School Board met in the Kramer library on March 3, 2016 with a 6:02 p.m. Call to Order by John Tintera. In attendance was Secretary Ean Fulks, Parliamentarian Kati Kieffer, along with Board members: Nick Giangiulio, Lisa Lamkin, Dr. April Michaud, Dr. Scott Gibby, Sophia Cartlidge, Toni Drengenberg, Samantha Gladwell, and Annemarie Manley. Members absent included John Tintera. Staff present included Kathleen Zimmermann, Alyssa Moore, Curtis Wilson, and Madison Pickens.

Agenda

The Board discussed the items on the agenda. Lisa Lamkin moved to strike item 4a2. The motion passed.

Lisa Lamkin moved to strike item 3a. The motion passed.

Lisa Lamkin moved to adjust the order of the Executive Session. The motion passed.

No public comment.

Unfinished Business/Public Comment

The Board discussed and voted on minutes for January 14, 2016. Lisa Lamkin moved to approve the January 14, 2016 minutes as amended. The motion passed.

The Board discussed and voted on minutes for February 11, 2016. Lisa Lamkin moved to approve the February 11, 2016 minutes as presented. The motion passed.

No public comment.

Board New Business

The Board discussed and voted on resolutions supporting NYOS applications for 21st CCLC grant funding starting in the 2016-2017 school year. Kathleen Zimmermann updated the Board on NYOS's participation and plans for next year. Lisa Lamkin moved to have the Board to sign the resolution supporting NYOS applications for 21st CCLC grant funding starting 2016-2017 school year. The motion passed.

The Board discussed and voted on policy changes to Student Modules 400.160, 400.170 with Addenda 1, 2, 4, and 6. Dr. Scott Gibby moved to approve the Student Modules 400.160, 400.170 with Addenda 1, 2, 4, and 6 as presented. The motion passed.

The Board discussed and voted on resolution for charter non-expansion amendment for bylaws changes. Kathleen Zimmermann presented the non-expansion resolution and explained changes to the bylaws that will be voted on in the May elections. Nick Giangiulio moved to have the

Board sign the resolution supporting the bylaws changes for the charter non-expansion. Nick Giangiulio, Lisa Lamkin, Dr. April Michaud, Dr. Scott Gibby, Sophia Cartlidge, Toni Drengenberg, Ean Fulks, and Kati Kiefer voted in agreement. Samantha Gladwell abstained from the vote. The motion passed.

Kathleen Zimmermann discussed with the Board the updated insurance changes.

Committees

The Financial Oversight Committee Chair - Dr. April Michaud updated the Board. The current NYOS enrollment is at 928 students.

The Executive Director Evaluation Committee member - John Tintera stated that the committee will be meeting and updating the Board during the Executive Session.

The Board Development Committee Chair – Sophia Cartlidge presented the Board with, "Just Say No to Self-Appointed Reconnaissance Missions" by Dr. Brian Carpenter.

The Compensation Committee member – Dr. April Michaud stated that there was no information to share at this time.

The Election Committee Chair-Nick Giangiulio reported that the election notifications have been posted. Other deadlines are as follows:

March 4, 2016 Election announcement

March 19-April 19, 2016 Candidate nominations

May 3, 2016 Election

Other Business

The Board discussed the agenda items for April 7, 2016 meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 7:04 p.m.

Executive Session

Item 2: Texas Governance Code Section 551.072

Item 1: Texas Governance Code Section 551.074

Bronwyn Sanderson Recorder

Ean Fulks

Secretary